Oct 7–Nov 9, 2022

Architecture Award Canton Zurich

Zollstrasse 115, Zürich CH8005 Map
Tue–Wed 12 am–6 pm, Thu 2–8 pm, Fri 12 am–6 pm, Sat 11 am–5 pm

On October 6, 2022, the foundation for the award of good buildings in the canton of Zurich will honor exemplary buildings in the canton that were completed between 2019 and 2021 for the seventh time. From October 7, 2022, all submitted buildings - especially the winning objects - will be on public display in the Architekturforum Zürich.

The award is given to builders and architects who have committed themselves to the realization of particularly high-quality architecture in an exemplary manner. The aim is to raise awareness of the current building culture in the canton of Zurich and stimulate public discussion about building. For the first time since it was founded in 2000, the architecture prize does not have an additional theme. Rather, the focus is on the original goal of the foundation, to honor exemplary buildings that make an outstanding contribution to building culture with an award.

The foundation is now also awarding two special prizes: "Der Grüne Leu" is intended to encourage architects and builders to tackle the urgently needed ecological change and to dare the unusual. We are looking for projects in which the topic of ecological sustainability has been intensively addressed and particularly clever and holistic solutions have been developed. For the second special prize – the audience prize – the public will choose their favorite in online voting from mid-June.

The canton of Zurich, represented by the building department, the Zürcher Kantonalbank and the Zurich local groups of the Association of Swiss Architects and the Swiss Werkbund, are responsible for the foundation for the award of good buildings in the canton of Zurich. The foundation is supported by the following partners: the Zurich University of the Arts, the Druckerei Wolfensberger and the media partner werk, bauen + wohnen.

The jury:

David Vogt, President of the Board of Trustees & Deputy Canton master builder, Zurich (Jury President)
Andrew Katumba, Cantonal Council & President Commission for Planning and Construction, Zurich
Regula Lüscher, architect & urban planner, Die Stadtmacherin, Berlin/Winterthur
Lilitt Bollinger, Architect, Lilitt Bollinger Studio, Nuglar
Céline Guibat, architect, mijong architecture design, Sion/Zurich
Stefan Rotzler, landscape architect, rotzler.land, Gockhausen
Jörg Lamster, architect and sustainability expert, Durable Planning and Consulting GmbH, Zurich
Jenny Keller, architect & editor, werk, bauen+wohnen, Zurich

Panel discussion with David Vogt, Philipp Esch, Jörg Lamster, Regula Lüscher and Martin Neukom on November 2, 2022 at 7 p.m